Vegans may soon be able to open their diets to gelatin. Bio-design company Geltor began by making vegan collagen and other beauty products. Now, they are able to produce a lab-grown, meat-free, edible gelatin product with that firm yet malleable texture that makes gelatin so popular in desserts and in everything from marshmallows and gummy bears to margarine and cream cheese. Made traditionally from various animal parts, decent substitutes for gelatin have so far been scarce in replicating its unique texture. This new plant-based “gelly” aims to do just that and replace animal-based gelatin by 2020. Are you ready to say hello to Gell-O?
For more hot F&B news like this, like Foodie on Facebook