Ben & Jerry’s New Non-Dairy: Now Everyone Can Enjoy Ice Cream

Ben & Jerry’s New Non-Dairy: Now Everyone Can Enjoy Ice Cream

Ben & Jerry's new non-dairy, 100% vegan ice cream means the creamy delicious can be eaten by all

viviantong  viviantong  on 2 Nov '15

Top photo credit: Ben & Jerry's

Ice cream was an important aspect to my after-school shenanigans back in middle school, when my friend and I would get the sweet delicacy from popular ice creameries and sit on the streets like we owned them. These hangouts turned uncomfortable however as my friend started having an upset stomach and we would always have to find bathrooms quickly. Turns out she was lactose intolerant, something 95% of Asian adults experience.

See more: Make Your Own Nut Mylk With These 3 Recipes 

Image title

Photo credit: the kitchn

Ben & Jerry’s introduction of a non-dairy ice cream is a blessing in disguise. Co-founder Jerry Greenfield announced in June this year and confirmed recently that the ice cream will be made from either almond or coconut milk. Moreover, the ice cream will be vegan friendly, avoiding animal products such as eggs, dairy or honey. This is not only great news for vegans and those who are lactose intolerant, but it’s also good news to 60% of the world’s population. Researchers have found that adults are actually not supposed to consume dairy, as we stop producing lactate, the enzymes that breakdown lactose, a sugar found in diary, between two to five years of age. This is why more than 60% of the world’s population is lactose intolerant, and why we tend to break out (or worse) when we consume dairy on a regular basis.

Image title

Photo Credit: Metro 

Now that a big name ice cream brand has hopped onto the non-dairy ice cream bandwagon, hopefully others will follow suit, and this delicacy can be enjoyed by all.

This post was created by a Foodie community contributor, where anyone can post their opinions and thoughts. Views represented are not affiliated with Foodie or our Partners. =)